Can I ask therapist to hug me

Can I ask therapist to hug me

Here's the stuff i have in my office that can symbolically give my clients the touch and hug and holding they crave.Do therapists ever fall in love with their clients?A therapist initiating a hug in therapy depends on your therapist's ethics, values, and assessment of whether an.And he did ask if it was ok to give me a hug.They may accept the hug, or they may decline.

However, practitioners need to use the apa's general principles to evaluate physical contact's potential impact on both the client and the therapeutic relationship.Would you ever hug your therapist?what if that therapist were a man and you were a woman or vice versa?would you allow your child's therapist to initiate or.If you feel you would like to hug them but you are not sure if this is okay:It is absolutely appropriate to ask for a hug from your therapist.I'd really like to ask him for a hug.

Does my therapist think about me between sessions?Those types of hugs don't feel accepting and nurturing to me.Touching in and of itself is not illegal.It doesn't mean a therapist will hug if a client asks under those circumstances because therapists still have their own personal boundaries concerning space and touch;A therapist can hug a client if they think it may be productive to the treatment.

However, that doesn't mean your therapist is going to answer, or in this case agree to whatever you ask.You should be able to say/ask anything in therapy (with the hopefully obvious exceptions of threatening your therapist).

36 Related Question Answers Found

Getting Therapy When Cost and Access Are a Barrier

When Sex Research and Sex Therapy Clash

What to Expect From an EMDR Therapy Session

Ask a Trainer: When Is It Time to Go See a Physical Therapist?

Easing pain: Can a massage therapist really help?

The Company Redesigning Behavioral Health For Patients And Therapists

COLUMN: A little 'playing catch therapy' can help

Here are 4 things men should know about testosterone therapy and signs of low testosterone

Stan Fitzgerald New Jersey, Discusses What Therapy Is Best For Veterans

Ask Sahaj: My girlfriend’s parents disapprove of our queer relationship

Ask Amy: How can I address my adult daughter’s eating disorder without alienating her?